claim
Medical technology such as DNA profiling and Assisted Reproductive Technologies will enable the protection of endangered species from extinction.
Gale Link
Click the logo above to load Science in Context's topic page on Genetic Engineering. You will need a password, click on the link below to be directed to the username and password page.
Usernames and Passwords
step 1
Step 1 : Identify the key terms of the Claim
Medical technology such as DNA profiling and Assisted Reproductive Technologies will enable the protection of endangered species from extinction.
step 2
Step 2 : Identify synonyms, search terms and phrases
Term |
Synonym |
Search Term/Phrase |
| Medical technology | cloning | DNA profiling | Assisted reproductive technologies | |
| extinct species | endangered | extinct animals | plants | flora | fauna | |
| extinction |
step 3
Step 3 : Develop refining questions to narrow the claim - Who? What? Which? How? ...
Consider the following:
What type of medical technology?
Which species?
How will they be brought protected?
step 4
Step 4 : Add to your terms, synonyms and search terms/phrases table
Now that you have narrowed the claim with specifics, add this detail to your keyword table.
step 5
Step 5 : Do background research to answer your refining questions
Use the help provided here to develop your database search skills.
Remember: use the LIMITERS to make your search more specific and relevant.
Click here to be directed to a guide for help on using Databases efficiently.
In the EBSCO One Search, click on Advnaced search and replicate this search (below) to get started:
From these results:
-
Read articles that interest you;
-
Add relevant search terms to your table
-
Apply these new search terms to determine how much information is readily available
-
IF you think there is ENOUGH information and research about your chosen topic, develop your research question.
Here are some articles to get you started (all found from the above search):
step 6
Step 6 : Develop a draft research question
Biology Sources
Search Engines and Databases for Biology
Any articles you find that you cannot access, search in our Database OneSearch. If you still cannot retrieve the article, send the link to the article to the Library and we will arrange for access.
- Cochrane Library"The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making."
- National Library of Medicine"The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe."
- PubMed"PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally."
- BMC Medicine"An open access, transparent peer-reviewed general medical journal, BMC Medicine publishes outstanding and influential research in all areas of clinical practice, translational medicine, medical and health advances, public health, global health, policy, and general topics of interest to the biomedical and sociomedical professional communities."
- HHMI Biointeractive"BioInteractive is a collection of resources, including 3D, animations, film, video, interactives, and virtual labs, that all pertain to the life sciences. ... The labs combine animations, illustrations, and videos to convey information and engage you in the process of science."
- Medical Xpress"Medical Xpress is a web-based medical and health news service that is part of the renowned Science X network.
- National Center for Biotechnology Information"The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) provides a wealth of information in the fields of medicine and biological sciences."
Search Engines and Databases for Science
Search Engines and Databases for Science
- Core"CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research worldwide and deliver unrestricted access for all."
- PLOS One"PLOS One is a peer-reviewed open access scientific journal published by the Public Library of Science (PLOS) since 2006. The journal covers primary research from any discipline within science and medicine."
- arXiv"arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,895,728 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv."
- Science Daily"ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations."
- Live Science"For the science geek in everyone, Live Science breaks down the stories behind the most interesting news and photos on the Internet, while also digging up fascinating discoveries that hit on a broad range of fields, from dinosaurs and archaeology to wacky physics and astronomy to health and human behavior."
- The Conversation"The Conversation Australia and New Zealand is a unique collaboration between academics and journalists that in just 10 years has become the world’s leading publisher of research-based news and analysis."
- Science Tech Daily"Read daily science news articles for students, teachers, and researchers. Find the latest science news and interesting research articles."
- SciCentral"Since 1997, the SciCentral editors have been aggregating breaking research news from the most reputable and reliable sources ... Only content freely accessible to online readers is considered."
- Google Books"On Google Books, you can read books and magazines, download them, cite them, and translate them. Some books are provided by publishers, while others are scanned as part of the Library Project." When you load a book, enter the keywords for the specific information you need in the Search in this book box. Although the entire book may not load, you may still be able to extract some relevant information.